Under Pressure

BY SHIRLEY SCHAUER – Staff Writer

College, jobs, and student loans. These are things that all high school students are supposed to be thinking about.

Parents expect their children to start planning their futures at the earliest age possible. Even I, a 14-year-old freshman, have been pressured into thinking about colleges.

It’s ridiculous that teens have to meet the standards of being a perfect student. Not everyone wants to be a doctor or an astronaut.

I have been on and off about what I want to do when I graduate. First it was culinary school, then it was Journalism, and now I’m conflicted between photography and music.

To me, school is kind of a nuisance. My own math teacher has told me that we won’t use most of the things we learn in that class when we grow up.

I’m being forced to do hours of homework for classes that I don’t need or want. We stopped learning new things in English, and now we just read and write essays.

So what if people don’t want to go to college? It’s their choice; not yours.

I’m not saying that there is something wrong with college students; I’m saying that it’s not for everyone.

There are a plethora of jobs out in the world that don’t require a college degree such as becoming a web designer or an insurance agent. A few kids in every graduating class who do not plan on going to college is not a bad thing.

Parents want the best for their kids, but forcing them to be stuck with student loans for several years for an education they do not want is not okay.

            Adults should consider not putting so much pressure on teens. We’re barely able to decide what we want to eat, let alone what we want to do for the rest of our lives.

Leave a Reply

